Set in the beautiful Weald of Kent, Penshurst Place has stood on the banks of the river Medway since the 14th century, when the awe inspiring medieval Baron’s Hall was built as a country retreat for the Lord Mayor of London, Sir John de Pulteney. Before it became the property of the Sidney family in 1552, in whose hands it has been in ever since, the property was owned by Henry VIII after he forfeited it from the previous owner, the Duke of Buckingham. The historic gardens are as old as the house, with records dating back to 1346. These enchanting formal gardens were laid out in Elizabethan times and have remained remarkably true to their early design.
They are very proud that it is still a family home and welcome visitors to discover the charm of Penshurst in the State Rooms, Gardens, Parkland and beyond.